Home Features Pricing Support Contact
Search:     Advanced search

Automatically Add Local Files

Article ID: 307
Last updated: 05 Apr, 2015

The Directory Rules screen allows you to set up the knowledgebase so that KBPublisher automatically checks the specified directory on the server every day and adds in KBPublisher links to any new files.

Standard allowed and denied extension rules apply, based on your denied and allowed extensions set in the Files Settings tab. 

Note: a directory rule doesn't move files it identifies as new: it adds links in KBPublisher to files on your server. If you move a file from the location KBPublisher linked to, the links to that file in the knowledgebase will be broken.

To see and manage your directory rules, select Files in the main menu, and then the Directory Rules tab:

directory rules tab

If you have a long list of directory rules, you can filter the list by rule status or by the directory the rule applies to, using the fields above the list of rules.

Managing directory rules

Check the check box in the Active column for a rule to enable that directory rule. Un-check the checkbox to disable the rule.

Click the gear icon in the Action column of a row to perform one of these actions on the directory rule in that row:

  • Edit - update the rule's information. The fields are the same as when you add a new directory rule--see the descriptions below.
  • Delete - delete the directory rule.

Adding new directory rules

To add a directory rule, click the Add New button. Complete the form that appears:

form to create a new directory rule

Rule options:

  • Directory  Provide the directory on the server that the directory rule should monitor. The directory name should be the full server path. Click Read directory to verify that the path is correct. If the path is correct, you see a list of all files in that directory.
  • Parse child directories - Check this option to have the rule monitor all sub-directories in the directory. This is selected by default.
  • Description - A description is not required, but you can add one to describe the files that normally appear in the directory, or information about the directory rule that may be useful to other team members.
  • Active - This field is selected by default, and once you save the new directory rule it will run at the next scheduled opportunity. Un-check this check box to disable the rule (you can also enable and disable a directory rule from the full list of rules, as described above).

File options:

  • Category - Add one or more categories to which the links to the new rules this directory rule finds will be added. Click the + icon to the right of the field to add a category.
  • Author - By default the current user's name appears in this field, and will be associated with the link to any file the directory rule adds to the knowledgebase. You can select a different user's name as the author, or opt to have no author name.
  • Private - By default the links the directory rule creates are public. Check one or both check boxes to control read and write access to the linked file to users with the roles you specify. See private read and write.
  • Schedule - Check the Yes check box to display fields where can control when the newly-linked files become available in the knowledgebase, and, optionally, when they become unavailable again. See Schedule an item.
  • Status - By default, files are set to a status of published, but you can change this to unpublished.

To test the settings click Test.

Click Save to save the new directory rule. Click Cancel to abandon your edits and close the form.

Article ID: 307
Last updated: 05 Apr, 2015
Revision: 4
Views: 5927
Comments: 0
Print Export to PDF Subscribe Share Add comment
This article was:   Helpful | Not helpful
Also listed in
folder User Manual v5.5 -> Importing

Prev   Next
Add a Local File     Add New File Category