Home Features Pricing Support Contact
Search:     Advanced search

Force users to log on

Article ID: 132
Last updated: 21 Sep, 2012

To force users to log on to even see the knowledgebase, let alone read articles:

  • From the Settings menu choose the Public Area -> Common tab
  • Go to the Security/Privacy/Registering section
  • Check access for registered users only.

To force users to log on before they can read specific sections of the knowledgebase:

  • From the Articles menu choose the Categories tab
  • Check each category you wish to force users to log on for
  • Choose set private from actions with selected at the bottom of the list of categories
  • This brings up privacy options for you to select from.  Check Read but do not select any roles from the list

To force users to log on before they can read specific articles in the knowledgebase:

  • From the Articles menu choose the Articles tab
  • Check each article you wish to force users to log on for
  • Choose set private from the actions with selected at the bottom of the list of articles
  • Check read but do not select any roles from the list

You can also set private read while you are creating or editing the category or article.

What is the difference between forcing a user to register and forcing them to log on?

When you force a user to register (access for registered users only) they must log on to the knowledgebase before they can read articles, whether the articles are marked as private or not.

When a user is not forced to register, they can always access the knowledgebase home page, even if they are not registered. They can read articles that are not marked as private, even if they do not log on. If an article is marked as private, however, then the user must register and log on in order to read that specific article.

Article ID: 132
Last updated: 21 Sep, 2012
Revision: 2
Views: 6919
Comments: 0
Print Export to PDF Subscribe Share Add comment
This article was:   Helpful | Not helpful
Also read
document Allow Users to Register

Prev   Next
Set Default User Roles     Allow Users to Register