Home Features Pricing Support Contact
Search:     Advanced search

Allow Users to Register

Article ID: 134
Last updated: 19 Dec, 2012

To set up your knowledgebase so that users register themselves:

  • From the Settings menu choose the Public Area -> Common tab
  • Go to the Security/Privacy/Registering section
  • Check Allow registration
  • Click Save to save the changes.

When a user comes to the site, they will see a Register option in the top-right-hand corner of the screen (near login). They can click on Register and will be presented with a screen of user details to fill in. What happens once they fill in the details on that screen depends on other settings in the Security/Privacy/Registering section.

  • If you have specified that the user must provide visual confirmation before they can register, the user will also get a code to type in as part of the registration process
  • If you checked approval required for registration then the registration request is sent to the administrator, who must approve it before the user can log in. If you did not check this option, the user can log in immediately (or at least, as soon as they get the automated confirmation message)
  • If you specified a default privilege for new users, the user will be set up with that privilege
  • If you specified a default role for new users, the user will be set up with that role.
Article ID: 134
Last updated: 19 Dec, 2012
Revision: 3
Views: 7403
Comments: 0
Print Export to PDF Subscribe Share Add comment
This article was:   Helpful | Not helpful
Also read
document Force users to log on

Prev   Next
Force users to log on     Allow users to rate articles